Do you want to be good or do you want to be great? (Again)

(I’ve written this post too many freaking times.)

 “We’re your arch nemesis-es. You may’ve beaten us this time, Slayer. But next time… Umm… next time…

So. Who’s excited about adding Pittsburgh back into the schedule?

First off, I love Virginia Tech. I loved them when they were losing to UVA. I loved them when MV7 was leading them to the National Championship. I loved them when ego and selfishness blew up an insanely talented 2003 team. I loved them when a scrappy Bryan Randall showed the ACC why VT was going to be king in 2004. I loved them while losing to Florida State, to USC, to Alabama, to Boise State, to JMU and I loved them yesterday while losing to Pittsburgh. But yesterday, that was just bad.

Bad, bad, bad. Bad offensively. Bad defensively. It started badly and ended worse. The “ranked” team looked overmatched from the first play, and it never got any better. Interceptions, bad, bad passes. Poor tackling. I don’t even know which finger to point at who.

I’m tired of 10 win seasons but losses to teams that shouldn’t happen. I’m tired of hearing the same old platitudes. I’m tired of being so disappointed. I love this team. I love these guys. They deserve better. I know it’s a long season. I know that the Hokies could come back (and probably will) and run off a big string of victories. There’s still an ACC championship to strive for. But I’m still tired.

I haven’t given up. I’ll be back next week, and every week. I’ll never give up. I’m a Hokie and we don’t do that. We get back up and punch the next guys right in the neck. But I’m still tired.

Best thing I saw all day today though:

The only good thing to come out of this game was the following headline, “Logan Thomas falls on, injures Wang.”  from VT Hokie Fans

Now that’s funny.

Leave a comment