A sad, sad state of affairs-Clemson

Well, guys, it’s official. We’re just really not a very good football team.

Sigh.

Rehashing it won’t help, so I won’t. Except to say a few things, like,  WTF was anyone thinking with that ridiculous 4th quarter “trick” play? Had our offensive guru’s forgotten that we were losing the game? Isn’t down by two scores, less than 10 minutes left time to break in a little hurry up offense? That was ill, ill, ill advised, my friends. VT is running perhaps the slowest hurry up I’ve ever seen. And the strangest. Down by 14? Let’s run the ball. A lot. Despite the fact that our tailbacks are averaging 1.6 yards per carry.  Maybe they’ll catch fire.

I didn’t want to think this game was even winnable. It was almost a dirty tease coming out and scoring immediately. Getting everyone’s hopes up for the inevitable let-down. But there were so many points where this game could have been winnable. How’s this for a stat? VT outgained the Tigers 406 yds to 253 and LOST by 21 points.

The decision to go for it on 4th down in field goal range. Yes, I get the needing as many points as possible. I do. But what did the Hokies end up with? None. Lots of effort for very little reward. Kinda why I don’t eat crab legs. Poor officiating, but I’m not even heading down that twisty path.  Poor, poor field position. Turnovers. Bad offensive execution. The decision to go from a slow developing offensive plan to one that was actually inert.

Wait, didn’t I say I wasn’t going to rehash?

Well, there’s still four games to go guys. 2 more wins and we’re bowl eligible! (Who would have ever thought that would be a question)? Wonder if they still have that Walnut Bowl….

Next up, Miami. I’d predict something, but I really have no idea. I guess we’ll see. I won’t give up, because Hokies aren’t allowed to do that, but I’m tired, guys. We all are.

 

 

One response to “A sad, sad state of affairs-Clemson

  1. You get much better results with crab legs, btw……

Leave a Reply

