Tyrod did it, Mikey! Tyrod did it!

(And with that, you can tell that I listened to the last drive on the radio in the car, because we had to leave early to beat the traffic.  Yeah. )

The Football Child

The Football Child

First, and most importantly, my son had a great first flag football game.  He passed for a touchdown, and as you can see, has a sweet handoff technique.  Alas, they lost, but he didn’t really care.

And now, on to it.  First off, I have to give congrats to Tyrod Taylor.  He is much more poised under pressure than I ever would have given him credit for.  In the post game interview, he mentioned that he is given permission to run his own plays in the two minute offense.  Hmmm.  Maybe we should just let him run them the entire game, cause it was the only sustained drive we had all day. 

Seriously, though, it was a great win.  It was a gosh-awful game, but a great win.  Midway through the fourth quarter, I began to mentally write this article in my head, entitled “Didn’t I just watch this same game in Atlanta a few weeks ago?”.  And, despite the miracle in Blacksburg ending, it was indeed the same game.  No offensive game plan.  No offensive adjustments when said game plan was obviously not working.  A team with a brand new quarterback seemingly moving at will.  Yeah, same game.

Did I mention no offense?  I am really hurting for these guys.  We have some insane talent on the offensive side of the ball.  We should not be performing the way we are performing.  Tyrod looks, and this is just my observation, worse to me than he did last year. But I don’t think it is his fault.  He’s not a worse player than he was before.  And I don’t know if he looks worse, or just confused.  I’m not sure he knows what to do, because I don’t think we have yet decided on an offensive identity.  Do we want to run?  Do we want to pass?  Is there something terribly wrong with letting a running quarterback make some running plays?  Sure, there’s always a risk of him getting hurt that way.  It was a risk for Michael Vick, too, and look how that turned out. 

Defensively, I still think we’ve got some pretty good stuff going on, although we have to tighten up at the corners (we really missed Virgil Saturday) and pick up our pass protection.  But, we did well enough to hold Nebraska to only field goals, which allowed for the unfathomable final drive. 

I’ve got some more thoughts and observations that I’ll try to work on later.  In the meantime, I think I’ll go stress about the Miami game.

Leave a Reply

